Italian Christy

My Love Affair with Red Radishes

I have not always been fond of vegetables. When you’re a child and you’re forced into doing something, whether you might have wanted to do it in the first place or not, you are bound to be contrary about it. That’s just how children are. And so when I grew up and had my own little ones, it was quite fortunate, and some may say even astute of me, that I actually remembered this little nugget of wisdom. And that is why when I serve any food on my dinner table, whether they be succulent meats, sweet desserts, or curious-looking greens, I always make it a point to tell my own kids that they have a choice: they can either eat up… or starve. Kidding!

On a more serious note, I do make it a point to serve beautiful looking and sweet smelling food. That way, I don’t have to actually entice my family to gobble up what I serve, the food will just reign them in… so to speak. And this is why I love colorful vegetables… and one of faves is the red radish. I mean, why won’t you love these babies when you get a look at them, eh? They look so cute and red… and they come in all sizes and shapes. And more importantly, they lend your salads or dishes a zesty-spicy taste.

When I get my hands on some I usually prepare a fresh salad with it. Below is one of my go-to recipes.

Fresh Red Radish Salad

red radish 02
Ingredients:

  • 1 head of lettuce, washed and torn
  • 1 cup of radish, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup of carrots, shredded
  • 1 cup of apples, diced
  • 1/4 cup of feta or grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoon lime juice
  • 2 tablespoon white balsamic vinegar (or red wine vinegar)
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey mustard
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Mix the lime juice, balsamic vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, honey mustard, salt, and pepper in a bowl. Whisk them until it has an even consistency. Set aside.
  2. Put the feta or grated Parmesan cheese in a small bowl. Set aside.
  3. Mix the radish, lettuce, carrots, and apples in a bowl. Toss the dressing you previously set aside, and immediately serve.
  4. Let your kids decide how much feta or grated Parmesan cheese they want.

Personally, I like looking at and eating vegetables because they look fun and when prepared right with the right herbs and spices, they can be super tasty. Not to mention, they’re also very healthy. It’s a win-win, all in all. Buon appetito!

This entry was published on March 9, 2017 at 4:20 pm and is filed under Recipes, Salads. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “My Love Affair with Red Radishes

  1. Love all the crunchy veggies in your salad! I grew up eating radishes warm from the sun, fresh out of the garden!

    Like

Leave a Reply

