Italian Christy

Oatmeal, Raisins, Brown Sugar…

and other goodies, make for delicious oatmeal raisin cookies!

Cookies are like a staple in our house. If you have a serious sweet tooth, an ongoing love affair with pastries, and children, on top of that… I guess that’s to be expected. But as the saying goes, too much of a good thing can’t be good. With cookies, too much sugar and carbs are never good, especially for growing kids. So every once in a while I try to opt for the healthier, but still yummy (I hope), versions of food stuff I make. And I got inspired by Lynn of Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures. She posted a recipe for Raspberry Oatmeal Breakfast cookies and they looked really good.

4333005413_24cd8fed95_o

 

So now, I’m rummaging around my kitchen and thankfully I found some ingredients I could work with. I don’t have raspberries or chocolate chips (sad, I know), but I did find raisins. I love raisins. So now here’s my Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups quick cooking oats
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven, typically it should be 350 degrees.
  2. Combine the oats, milk, brown sugar, baking powder, eggs, and salt. Stir with a whisk. Add butter and vanilla. Stir the batter again until well-mixed.
  3. Add the yummy raisins a few bits at a time. To make sure you don’t overmix, fold the batter as you add the raisins.
  4. In a cookie sheet, place portions of cookie batter in rows. I usually use 1/4 cup for this to get consistent cookie sizes. Slightly flatten each cookie portion.
  5. Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes.

Guard from kids until cool enough to be munched on. Haha. And serve with a glass of milk. (Cookies should always be consumed with milk, don’t you think? 😀 )

Disclaimer: I still don’t have my own camera, so the photos here are still not my own. But I’m crossing my fingers I’d be able to save some extra for one soon. ^_^

This entry was published on March 22, 2017 at 11:48 am and is filed under Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Oatmeal, Raisins, Brown Sugar…

  1. These really sound terrific! I don’t think I’d miss the reduced amount of butter one bit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

